Photos, Artwork, & Musings on Life, Spirit, Entheogens, Time, & Travel

A Poem from a Dream

David Crews
(from a dream)

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

Walking earnestly through a timely land,
I dreamt I met myself three times.
Each one, an earlier shade of Self.
Each to cause some sense of shock as
I reentered life where I had been
And found the things I once held,
Surprising with their sudden existence.

Busy in my walking, I had forgotten them.
Like heavy coats, and Things to carry.
Each older version of myself,
Was burdened the more, yet unaware
Of those burdens at all.
Bemused, I wondered at my several selves.
How could I have been so hindered?

As the walker, it is certain I cannot afford them.
I must move on – get to my destination.
I smile and shake my head.
Just leave those things, I say,
And come along.

Perhaps, when I die,
I shall shed it all and become
As light as a Thought.

Perhaps, I shall float above that world
Containing all my older selves –
A soap bubble, fragile but enduring.
A swirl of pastel colors.
As light as a single inspiration.
Strong as the pain of loss.

Where all that keeps me from bursting
Is my own fierce beauty.

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Leave a Reply

