Photos, Artwork, & Musings on Life, Spirit, Entheogens, Time, & Travel

A Fortune of My Own Design

I often pay attention to various random systems that appear in my life’s path – systems that can operate as synchronicity tools. This can be anything from the most sophisticated of these tools, the I Ching, to something as ridiculous as a fortune cookie.

I had Chinese for lunch today, and though I really dislike eating the cookie part, I always pull out the “fortune” to see if there is any synchronicity meaning or indications I can pull from it. There rarely is, of course, but today was different.

I opened the cookie, and . . . there was no fortune inside it at all.

I began to laugh.  Mistake or message?  One can say what one may. I choose to view it as a not-so-subtle message from the wider universe.

Casteneda’s Don Juan said:

“Does this path have a heart? All paths are the same – they lead nowhere. . . If this path has a heart, the path is good; if it doesn’t, it is of no use. Both paths lead nowhere, but one has a heart, the other doesn’t. One makes for a joyful journey; as long as you follow it, you are one with it. The other will make you curse your life. One makes you strong; the other weakens you.”

___________________– Carlos Casteneda, The Teachings of Don Juan: A Yaqui Way of Knowledge

There is no fortune or misfortune that we are destined for. Of course, there is happenstance, but we choose our paths and continue to choose them every hour of every day. Is our path one of value? – of goodness? – of Heart?  If not, we have only ourselves to blame and only ourselves to call upon to alter our path to one that encompasses these values.

Misfortune?  Good fortune?  No “fortune” at all, except for what we create internally in our hearts and externally in the path we choose to walk. This is the message I take from today’s very interesting after-dinner treat.  It was, perhaps, the most revealing fortune cookie message I’ve ever received.

2 responses

  1. t.on.air

    Very true.Thanks for posting this. Keep up the good work!

    March 27, 2012 at 8:46 am

Leave a Reply

