Photos, Artwork, & Musings on Life, Spirit, Entheogens, Time, & Travel

Let’s Lasso an Asteroid!

TheAustralian-asteroid[Click image to go to one of the news service stories / stories about this.]
Image from The Australian via Rick Sternbach, Keck Institute for Space Studies.

I love it when science fiction taps us on the shoulder, excuses itself as it slips past us, and proceeds to make itself into gosh-darn science reality.

Reports are being published that one of the very realistic action plans NASA will consider soon is to send a ship up to lasso an asteroid, stabilize it, then bring it back to an orbit around the Moon. There it can be used as an experimental base and as a way station for future Mars missions.

I particularly agree with one point that was made. Just flying out to an asteroid and touching it to “say we’d done so” is OK, but not nearly as compelling as this practical mission. This has real meat to it – real adventure and actual practical value. It is not just abstract basic research.

In other words, it could be a PR prize. I hope NASA considers this program strongly. Let’s go capture one of those darn rocks and bring it back into our zone of control. It would be the very first time a celestial object was moved by humans. We can test it for mineral mining, use it as a base, study it for how to manipulate one of its rambunctious cousins into not hitting Earth, and maybe just inspire the world to take the next steps into a broader and safer future for us all.

Cool!

 

.

2 responses

  1. Happy New Year David. One of the hard parts from having been on the road for photo assignments for the past few months was only rarely having enough internet access to keep up on the blogs I enjoy following. And, yours is one of those. Now that I’m back I’ve just started catching up and am really enjoying all that I’ve missed on your site. I so much enjoy the posts you write and consider you a very talented artist whose work I enjoy viewing. Thanks for all you have posted during this, your first full year of blogging.

    January 4, 2013 at 5:37 am

    • Hi Rick, and thank you so much for your comments and praise. I am gratified that you find my content interesting, and I hope to continue to provide new things. BTW, I’ve really enjoyed seeing your photo work from Hubbell Trading Post, one of my favorite places to stop when I’m traveling out West. It must have been a fun assignment!
      Thanks again, and I hope you’ll keep tuning in.

      January 4, 2013 at 5:02 pm

Leave a Reply

