Photos, Artwork, & Musings on Life, Spirit, Entheogens, Time, & Travel

“Big Bend – The Scale of Time” (film)

 

As a follow-up for the summer photography in my last post, I’m pleased to present a six minute film titled “Big Bend–The Scale of Time.” This is a short preview for my upcoming reflective landscape film about Big Bend National Park in Texas. I am in the process of re-shooting footage in high definition to entirely update and replace the imagery from an older film, while retaining the music track and eventually the incidental poetic script and narration elements. This HD film is hosted on Vimeo and is best seen full-screen.

The cinematography and photography in this short version all come from a brief three-day visit to the park in June, 2014. I plan to return at least twice in the coming months (for longer stays) and obtain much more footage to fill out the main feature. What imagery will I get on my next trip? In June, I didn’t expect to get caught in that dramatic lightning storm or see a cloudy, no-sunrise morning suddenly erupt into an amazing spotlit fan of golden light. Big Bend always surprises me with unexpected scenes of wild and gentle beauty that translate so very well into visual art.
I hope you enjoy my film.

A note about the music: This is my original composition and performance excerpted from the longer film. It won the Calypso Award from the Moondance International Film Festival in 2006, and also a prestigious Silver Telly Award in that same year.

.

4 responses

  1. What an absolutely stunning, beautiful, spiritual and moving celebration of the Earth and Sky you have created, David. I know firsthand what a love for the Earth it takes to capture the images/footage for a visual experience like this and the incredible commitment it requires to blend those with music to create such a powerful emotional experience for the viewers. Your images during this 3-day shoot are fabulous and the music touches my heart. Well well done my friend. ~ Rick

    September 23, 2014 at 7:45 pm

    • I deeply thank you, Rick. As I know it is for you with your superlative work, for me, it’s such a joy to capture the immense landscapes of the American West and to present them in a form that can touch the spirit.

      September 23, 2014 at 7:52 pm

  2. Debra Reynolds

    That is beautiful David, it gave me chill bumps. I hope we can meet sometime when you are here in Terlingua I love the way you see this place. let me know if you get a group together, spiritual or otherwise Id be interested in joining. Thank you for the emails and video. Many blessings to you

    October 26, 2014 at 10:07 am

    • Thank you, Debra. The desert is poetry if one simply looks and listens. I’m a creative introvert, so don’t know about forming a group, but I’ll be back in Big Bend soon. Maybe we can get together one of those times.

      October 26, 2014 at 11:28 am

Leave a Reply

