Photos, Artwork, & Musings on Life, Spirit, Entheogens, Time, & Travel

Sacred Land ~ Sacred Journey

SacredEarthDrum[DREAMSCOPE-blend]

 

[Click any image to enlarge to full size]

I will be soon returning to the wondrous landscapes of the Four Corners region here in the US, especially to the sacred, sculpted redlands of southeastern Utah. I’ve been drawn to this amazing land since the mid 1970s, and I return here as often as I can. The great National Parks of Canyonlands, Arches, and Capitol Reef (not to mention Zion and Bryce Canyon further west) are the heart of this unique topography. It is a place of great beauty, danger, adventures, and an almost visceral spirituality.

The part of this country that is in Navajo hands, such as Monument Valley, is and always has been utterly sacred to them. All of it feels sacred to me. There are many special places I like to go in this high desert, but there is one private spot I picked many years ago that I reserve for my own meditation and shamanic journeying.

I’ve posted the original photo of myself in this spot before, but recently I was experimenting with the new Deep Dream code from Google. They use it to search, organize, and perform image recognition on their vast image databanks. It can also be used to create strange, visionary alterations to existing images, such as mine. I used several Deep Dream “filters” to create multiple versions of this photograph, then I chose parts of each to make the final combination.

I like this kind of processing when used artistically. It is, obviously, best suited for visionary or psychedelic style images like this one.

I’ll post much more (traditional) photography (like the one below) of these special landscapes upon my return in August.

 

Needles1-border

 

 

.

2 responses

  1. Tom O. Maxwell

    Hey David, If you get a chance while visiting Utah, try to stop by the South Rim of the Grand Canyon and say hi. Tom O. Maxwell

    July 15, 2015 at 8:37 pm

  2. Hey Tom,
    I will if I can. Don’t know if I’ll go that far west out of the corners.
    Email me at david @jaguarfeather.com if you want. I take it you are at the S. Rim complex.

    July 15, 2015 at 8:51 pm

Leave a Reply

